Community Futures organizations are independent non-profit societies, locally-run, and guided by volunteer boards.

Fort St James Skating Oval, BC

They actively support community-based economic development with a range of products and services aimed at creating diverse, sustainable rural communities.

CFSN considers its volunteers one of the organization's most important resource. Together with skilled staff, board and committee members guide the organization to its locally-created and community-driven goals.

The Board of Directors

The Board defines and delegates rather than reacting and ratifying. The Board must work continually to define the direction and end results that the organization is to achieve, and to develop policy that defines the acceptable boundaries within which it can delegate the achievements of those results. A total of 12 board members can be nominated, and ideally will represent the region's resident population, its priority economic sectors, and include representation from the large, diverse geographic region.

Present Board Directors
Name Years Served Home Community
Michael Reed 2012 Vanderhoof
Charles Hutchinson 2013 Vanderhoof
Dave Birdi 2015 Fort St. James


The Board of Directors Biographies:

Michael Reed

Michael Reed joined CFSN as a director 2012.

Michael returned to Vanderhoof, his childhood home, to practice law after earning a law degree from the University of New Brunswick. He is a member of the Law Societies for British Columbia and Saskatchewan. Michael played junior hockey for the Quesnel Millionaires 1995-1996 and played senior A hockey as a member of the Battleford Bruins in 2003-2004.

Michael lives with his wife Li-Ching and their two children and enjoys running and spending his time with family.

Charles Hutchinson

Charles joined CFSN as a director 2013.

Charles is a relatively new arrival to the region, moving to Vanderhoof in May 2012 to practice law. Charles has a Bachelor of Business Administration degree from Simon Fraser University and a law degree from the University of British Columbia. Charles is married with three children and has previously volunteered with Scouts Canada as well as coaching soccer and volleyball. Charles enjoys the outdoors.

Dave Birdi

Dave joined CFSN as a director in 2015.

Dave is passionate for the social and economic growth of our community and region. He works in the financial sector managing loans and investments and is active in the community in his third term as Municipal Councillor, serving as President of Fort St. James TV and Radio Society, President of Stuart Lake Seniors Association, and long time organizer of youth soccer.

A resident of the community since the 1970ís, Dave and his wife Harjit have raised their three children in Fort St. James and they enjoy walks at Stuart Lake.



Non Board Members

Steve Johnson

Steve is currently semi-retired and has lived in Vanderhoof since 2010. Steve has many years experience in all facets of large construction including working as a tradesman to several levels of construction management. Steve also followed a dream of his and established a cattle and forage operation and his interest in agriculture continues to this day. Steve feels that there are exciting opportunities for diversification of the local agricultural industry.



Find out how to volunteer with CFSN. And thank you!